It is anticipated that on January 1st, 2017,
that East Smithfield Water District
will be consolidating with Providence Water

There will be a community meeting on
December 7, 2016 – 6:30 pm
Portuguese-American Club
40 Fenwood Ave.
Smithfield, RI 02917 (map)

Meeting Notice &
Frequently Asked Questions


East Smithfield Water District

 Welcome to East Smithfield
Water District Online 

The East Smithfield Water District was created by an Act of the Rhode Island General Assembly at the January Session, 1934. The District service area includes the Esmond and Georgiaville sections of the Town of Smithfield and the Greystone section of the Town of North Providence. The District distributes water services on a retail basis to residential, commercial, and industrial consumers within its service area.  The District is governed by a seven member Executive Board: the District Moderator, the District Treasurer, both of whom are appointed by the Board, and five members who are elected by the ratepayers of the District. Elected members serve a term of three years. Vacancies occurring during a term are filled for the unexpired term. The Chairperson of the Board is selected by a majority vote of the Board members.  Please feel free to contact us with any suggestions or questions you may have.  We accept credit card  payments online (see right margin).